Kids across the nation will be learning a common set of mathematics standards starting this fall, if the Common Core State Standards Initiative is successful.

Already adopted by 21 states thus far (including Michigan), these math standards would replace the 50 visions of mathematics currently out there with one set of learning standards.

In the elementary grades, the standards focus on learning what numbers are, and how to use them in arithmetic. In middle school, the curriculum shifts to algebra, and in high school, probability, statistics and applications of math to everyday life are stressed.

You can read the standards, and about the process of building them, here.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Watch & Listen LIVE