The Comcast Foundation has recognized the outstanding community service and academic achievements of 100 Michigan high school seniors by awarding each of them with $1,000 college scholarships.

The 2011 Comcast Leaders and Achievers scholarship program, one of the Comcast Foundation’s signature community investment programs, recognizes students who have demonstrated leadership skills, academic achievement and a commitment to community service. The Comcast Foundation was founded in 1999 to provide charitable support to its local communities and to empower and enrich lives.

The Comcast Foundation will distribute a total of $100,000 in grants across Michigan to recognize these outstanding individuals for their efforts. Honorees have been invited to attend a ceremony June 14 at the Michigan State Capitol in Lansing.

“This year’s group of Michigan Leaders and Achievers scholarship recipients includes some incredibly talented and driven individual,” said Tim Collins, senior vice president of Comcast in Michigan. “These young people are true leaders in their schools and in their communities. They share Comcast’s commitment to giving back to the Michigan communities in which we live and work and we are proud to support them as they take the next step in their careers.”

Each year, Comcast works with high school principals, guidance counselors, and school administrators to select scholarship recipients. Community commitment plays a significant role in that decision. This year’s honorees have spearheaded numerous campaigns, organized a variety of events, and participated in a broad range of organizations supporting countless important community groups serving individuals across Michigan.

The Comcast Leaders and Achievers Scholarship Program provides one-time $1,000 scholarships to students who strive to achieve their potential, who are catalysts for positive change in their communities, who are involved in their schools, and who serve as models for their fellow students. The philosophy behind the program is to give young people every opportunity to be prepared for the future, to engage youth in their communities, and to demonstrate the importance of civic involvement and the value placed on civic involvement by the business community. Since the program’s inception there have been over 15,000 scholarships awarded, totaling more than $15.4 million.

This year’s Comcast Leaders and Achievers® Scholarship recipients for Michigan are:

Rachel Alexander, Detroit Western High School; Tanasha Anderson, Detroit Martin Luther King Jr. Sr. High School; Allison Avery, Commerce Township, Our Lady Of The Lakes High School; Kevin Bain, Northville High School; Jamie Barnes Muskegon Mona Shores High School; Melissa Bazydlo, Manchester High School; Jenna Behnke, Battle Creek St. Philip Catholic Central High School; Shelby Berens, Port Austin  North Huron High School; Halea Besemer, South Haven High School; Neha Bhatia, Clarkston, Waterford Kettering High School; Bethany Bo, Fruitport High School; Katherine Bokach, Carsonville-Port Sanilac High School; Asia Bond, Detroit, Academy of the Sacred Heart; Trevor Bonventre, Novi, University of Detroit Jesuit High School; Abbie Brackman, Hillsdale, Pittsford High School; Austin Brewer, Flint Kearsley High School; Brandon Britt, Flint Southwestern Academy; Candace Browning, Ypsilanti Lincoln Senior High School; Ashli Bynum, Ada, Forest Hills Northern High School; Olivia Chavez, Detroit, Cesar Chavez High School; Kathryn Clark, Davison, Genesee Early College; Morgan Collins, Dearborn Divine Child High School; Yolanda Cornejo, Grand Rapids, East Kentwood High School; Aukury Cowart, Pontiac High School;

Eleanor Davies, Bloomfield Hills, International Academy; Stephanie Dean, Ypsilanti Willow Run High School, Alysen DiFilippo, Rochester Hills, Rochester High School; Natalie Dumais, Trenton High School; Kyle Fitzpatrick, Sparta High School; Brianna Fitzpatrick, Battle Creek Central High School; Dannie Fountain, Avoca, St. Clair High School; Elizabeth Fredericks, Wyandotte,  Gabriel Richard Catholic High School; Jerod Gardner, Holt High School; Jerika Gomez, Sandusky Community School; Lakeitha Greene, Detroit Southeastern High School;

Delaina Hardges, St. Clair Shores, South Lake High School; Olivia Harper, Detroit, Renaissance High School; Elizabeth Harris, Birmingham Seaholm High School; Emily Hazelbach, Caledonia High School; Matthew Hill, Milford High School; Daniel Hills, Parma, Jackson County Western High School; Ryan Hobby, Twin Lake, Muskegon Reeths-Puffer Senior High School; Lisa Hursin, Port Austin, Bad Axe High School; Tobias Hutchins, Fennville High School; Kimberly Jackson Muskegon Area Career Tech Center; Michelle Jacobs, Grosse Ile Township High School; Amanda Jakubowski, Grand Rapids, Kenowa Hills Public Schools; Jasmin James, Pontiac,  Clawson Senior High School; Georgia-Rae Jones, Fort Gratiot, Port Huron Northern High School;

Jessica Kahn, West Bloomfield, Frankel Jewish Academy; Kelly Keelon, Ypsilanti High School, Kristy Kirk, Flint Bendle High School, Alicia Knapp, Waldron High School; Sara Knutson, Holland, Black River Public School; Michelle Lam, Shelby Township, Regina High School; Paige Lammers, Grass Lake High School; Nicole LeClair, Clio Area High School; Danielle Lentz, Rochester Hills, Avondale High School; Monique Lewis, Flint, International Academy of Flint; Mason Liang, Troy High School; Emily Lisner, Bloomfield Hills Andover High School; Kyle Luck, Sturgis, Centreville High School; Ciara Lynch, Royal Oak Shrine High School; Sarah Lyons, Wyoming, Rogers High School;

Alyssa Masciovecchio, Riverview Community High School; Kelsey Maxwell, Grand Blanc High School; Maya Meheidli, Dearborn Fordson High School; Nebiat Mengsteab , Grand Rapids Creston High School; Phillip Messing, Deckerville Secondary School, Stacey Miller, Grand Rapids, Calvin Christian High School; James Nguyen,  Kentwood, Kelloggsville High School; Elizabeth Ortiz, Holland High School; Nathan Pedder, Troy, Sterling Heights High School; Blaire Phillips, Lawton High School; Maxwell Poole, Grosse Pointe Farms, Grosse Pointe North High School; Crysta Ransom, Emmett, Capac High School; Laura Rico, White Lake, Lakeland High School;

Nathanael Sanchez, Sterling Heights, Macomb Christian School; Bianca Sanders, Pontiac Academy for Excellence – High School; Lorraine Schrand, Avoca, Yale High School; La’quan Scott-Colston, Inkster, Academy for Business and Technology High School; Scott Shermetaro, Rochester Hills, Stoney Creek High School; Shaina Shetty, Oakland Township, Cranbrook School; Mary Smith, Britton, Britton-Macon Area School; Lauren Snarski, Fraser High School; Marissa Stec, Lake Orion High School; Ellie Stoffer, Dexter, Chelsea High School; Caley Terry, Rockford, NorthPointe Christian School; Joseph Thompson, Jonesville High School; Ryan Toussaint, Bloomfield Hills, Lahser High School; Linda Umulisa, Detroit, Advanced Technology Academy; Mary Varsanik, Rochester, Notre Dame Prep High School; Andrew Verstraete, Eaton Rapids High School; Keyonia Walker, Detroit Denby High School; Jeanae Wesley, Detroit, Old Redford Academy – High School; Taryn Wessels, Bad Axe, Laker High School; Chelsea Wiles, Decatur High School; Megan Williams, White Lake, Lutheran High School Northwest; Laura Wiseman, East Lansing High School; and Kirstyn Zdebski, Lansing Sexton High School.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Watch & Listen LIVE