FARMINGTON HILLS — For the fourth consecutive year, Community Choice Credit Union announced that its 501 (c)(3) foundation is offering $100,000 in scholarships to high school seniors in Southeastern Michigan.

“Community Choice Credit Union has not only financially supported my academic career, but they have also inspired me to one day give back to Michigan with the talents and opportunities I have been given,” said Evan Slawski, a 2009 Community Choice Foundation scholarship winner. “There is a reason why people call our generation the future of Michigan. Community Choice Credit Union sees this demand and is investing in the future of Michigan.”

To be eligible for a scholarship, students must write an essay that explains why they have decided to remain a Michigan resident and how their college course work and intended degree will allow them to enrich Michigan, its communities, or a Michigan industry.

With roots dating back to 1935, Community Choice was started when friends and neighbors put $5 into a fund from which anyone could borrow in a time of need. This cooperative spirit remains the core value of the credit union, inspiring the creation of the Community Choice Foundation in 2009.

Since its inception, the Community Choice Foundation has granted $305,000 in scholarships to 61 Southeast Michigan students supporting their higher education goals at Michigan based colleges and universities. Recipients of the scholarships represent multiple counties including 22 students from Wayne, 22 students from Oakland, 13 students from Macomb, three students from Livingston, and one student from Lenawee. Nearly 33 percent of those students are pursuing their studies at the University of Michigan, while roughly 20 percent of the students are pursuing their education at Michigan State University — with 15 colleges total being represented.

Said Community Relations Director, Molly Shor: “The credit union is making a long-term commitment to local students, an investment in future leaders who will help ensure the home-grown success of the state of Michigan.”

Additional eligibility requirements include students must graduate with at least a 3.0 grade point average from high schools within the Community Choice charter counties of Genesee, Lapeer, Livingston, Macomb, Oakland, St. Clair, Washtenaw, or Wayne counties. In addition, students must show acceptance into an accredited community college, college, or university in the state of Michigan, pursuing an associates or bachelors degree.

The deadline for application is March 1. For more information about the scholarship, students and parents can visit


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Watch & Listen LIVE