Local

Detroit Residents Invited To Discuss Problems, Suggest Improvements

View Comments
Detroit downtown

DETROIT (WWJ) – A series of community conversations are being held across Detroit beginning Monday as a way to develop possible solutions to problems plaguing residents’ quality of life.

Representatives of the Detroit Works long-term planning team will share new research with residents and give them an opportunity to weigh in on what improvements they would like to see in their neighborhood.

“If you keep it in mind that it’s not what you heard in the 1.0 version, that we’re basically going to pay to displace people and things of this nature, I think this is going to be more of a plan that will be a valuable resource for decision making,” said George Jackson, chair of the steering committee for the retooled project.

The first meeting, for residents on the northwest side, happens 5:30 to 8 p.m. Monday at the Northwest Activities Center.

Listed below are upcoming meetings:

Northwest (at the Northwest Activities Center, 18100 Meyers Rd.)
Monday, May 7; 5:30-8 p.m.
Monday, May 21; 5:30-8 p.m.

Northeast (at the Serbian Memorial Hall, 19940 Van Dyke)
Tuesday, April 17; 5:30-8 p.m.
Tuesday, May 8; 5:30-8 p.m.
Tuesday, May 22; 5:30-8 p.m.

Southwest (at the IBEW Union Hall, 1358 Abbott St.)
Thursday, April 19; 5:30-8 p.m.
Thursday, May 3; 5:30-8 p.m.
Thursday, May 17; 5:30-8 p.m.

Central/Near East (at the Detroit Rescue Mission Ministries, 3606 E. Forest Ave.)
Saturday, April 21; 9:30 a.m.-noon
Saturday, May 5; 9:30 a.m.-noon
Saturday, May 19; 9:30 a.m.-noon

Click here for more on the Detroit Works Project.

View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,328 other followers