CBS62logoNEW2013_blue_final_header_White wwj950-sm2011b 971-ticket-35smb 35h_CBSSportsRad_Detroit

Tigers

Young Won’t Start Immediately Upon Return

View Comments
MINNEAPOLIS MN- AUGUST 27:  Delmond Young #21 left fielder for the Detroit Tigers grabs a ground ball hit by Justin Morneau of Minnesota Twins in the first inning on August 27, 2011 at Target Field in Minneapolis, Minnesota. Detroit wins 6-4. Detroit wins 6-4. (Photo by Craig Lassig/Getty Images)

MINNEAPOLIS MN- AUGUST 27: Delmond Young #21 left fielder for the Detroit Tigers grabs a ground ball hit by Justin Morneau of Minnesota Twins in the first inning on August 27, 2011 at Target Field in Minneapolis, Minnesota. Detroit wins 6-4. Detroit wins 6-4. (Photo by Craig Lassig/Getty Images)

Tigers Central
Shop for Tigers Gear
Buy Tigers Tickets

MLB Scoreboard
MLB Standings
Team STATS
Team Schedule
Team Roster
Team Injuries

Sports Fan Insider

Keep up with your favorite teams and athletes with daily updates.
Sign Up

–LF Delmon Young won’t be in Detroit’s starting lineup Friday when he comes off Major League Baseball’s suspended list, according to manager Jim Leyland. “He won’t play Friday,” Leyland said. “He needs to get back into the routine of things, taking batting practice, taking fly balls in the outfield, stuff like that. “Would I put him in a game late? Yes. He hasn’t been out of action very long but let’s let him get acclimated.” Young was suspended a week retroactive to last Friday after being arrested in New York for his part in an early morning incident.

–CF Austin Jackson had four hits for the third time this season, making himself and SS Harvey Kuenn the only Detroit players since at least 1918 to have at least that many hits in the Tigers’ first 23 games of the season. The Tigers are 8-3 when Jackson reaches base at least twice per game via hit or walk. Jackson made another highlight play in the ninth when he leaped and grabbed a ball hit by RF Jeff Francoeur that struck the top of the fence in left center. Jackson snared the ball on the home-run side of the fence and threw it in, with Francoeur being tagged out. But second base umpire Tim McClelland, working his 4,000th game, inadvertently signaled ground-rule double and Francoeur was sent back to second, where he was standing when the game ended.

Click HERE for the full story from CBSSports.com

View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,869 other followers