MINNEAPOLIS (AP) — The Western Collegiate Hockey Association will play a 28-game league schedule when it’s shuffled for the 2013-14 season.

The WCHA made the announcement Thursday after meetings in Detroit with the nine members of what will be a new-look league when the Big Ten and National Collegiate Hockey Conference form next year. Alaska Anchorage, Alaska Fairbanks, Bemidji State, Bowling Green State, Ferris State, Lake Superior State, Michigan Tech, Minnesota State and Northern Michigan will play each opponent but two in home and away weekend sets. That leaves one series each for the remaining two WCHA foes and six nonconference games.

The WCHA also approved a nine-team postseason tournament format, with the regular season champion receiving a first-round bye, but the site of the annual Final Five playoffs has not been determined.

(© Copyright 2012 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Watch & Listen LIVE