PARK RIDGE, Ill. (AP) — The Big Ten has named Michigan State basketball player Draymond Green the Jesse Owens Male Athlete of the Year and Ohio State track athlete Christina Manning the Suzy Favor Female Athlete of the Year.

Green, a senior from Saginaw, Mich., averaged 16.2 points and 10.6 rebounds per game. He led the Spartans to a share of the conference championship and a victory over Ohio State in the Big Ten Tournament final.

Manning of Waldorf, Md. leaves the Buckeye program as an 11-time All-American and 10-time Big Ten Champion. She holds school records in the 60- and 200-meter dash and 60- and 100-meter hurdles.

Green and Manning were selected by a media panel. The Jesse Owens award was created in 1982, while the Suzy Favor award was established in 1991.

(© Copyright 2012 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Watch & Listen LIVE