Snyder Names 12 People To Michigan Autism Council

LANSING (AP) – Gov. Rick Snyder has named 12 people to the newly created Autism Council within the state Department of Community Health.

The governor’s office issued an order Thursday’s order creating the council as a step to implement Michigan’s Autism Spectrum Disorders State Plan.

On Tuesday, Snyder announced his appointments to the council.

The members are Mary Chaliman of Holt, Kimberley Gaedeke of Plymouth, Elizabeth Knisely of Plymouth, Joanne Winkelman of Bloomfield Township, Michael Caine of Lansing, Anthony Ianni of East Lansing, Amy Matthews of Grand Haven, Robert Sheehan of Lansing, Colleen Allen of Detroit, R. Wayne Fuqua of Kalamazoo, Stacie Rulison of St. Johns and Jane Turner of East Lansing.

Snyder and Lt. Gov. Brian Calley pushed for passage of a mandate for insurance coverage for autism treatment for children.


© Copyright 2012 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.


More From CBS Detroit

Hump Day Drinks: 8 Cheery Cocktail RecipesNow that you've made it through half the work week, it's time to celebrate!
Daily J

Watch & Listen