By Tim Skubick

DETROIT (WWJ) – There is a change in the name of failing schools in Michigan.

Under the federal No Child Left Behind Act, failing schools in Michigan were called ‘Persistently Lowest Achievers’.

Now that has been dropped in favor of something a little more positive; priority schools, is the new term.

WWJ Lansing Bureau Chief Tim Skubick spoke with State School Superintendent Mike Flanagan about the change in terms.

“It’s made it more teacher and student friendly because you are not just emphasising what we used to call ‘Persistantly Lowest Acheiving’ schools, they are called ‘Priority Schools’, said Flanagan. “We have to help them get better.”

The Obama administration has granted Michigan a waiver from ‘No Child Left Behind Act’, which is a standards based education strategy, which requires states to develop assessments in basic educational skills and is tied to federal school funding.

Detroit Public Schools have had their share of struggles, at one point the U.S. Education Secretary Arne Duncan called DPS the “ground zero for American education.”


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Watch & Listen LIVE