LOUISVILLE, Ky. – Louisville Slugger®, the number-one bat in Major League Baseball®, proudly announced the 2012 Silver Slugger™ Award winners tonight in a special hour-long telecast exclusively on MLB Network, hosted by Greg Amsinger and Bill Ripken.
Ten of the 18 team members were recognized as Silver Slugger winners for the first time, including Buster Posey, catcher for the World Series® Champion San Francisco Giants and winner of the NL batting title. Two players made the team for the fifth time the American League’s shortstop, Derek Jeter of the Yankees, and the National League’s Ryan Braun, leftfielder for the Milwaukee Brewers.
The Silver Slugger award winners were determined by a vote of Major League Baseball coaches and managers who named the players they felt were the best offensive producers at each position in both the American and National leagues in 2012. Selections were based on a combination of offensive statistics, including batting average, on-base percentage and slugging percentage, as well as the coaches’ and managers’ general impressions of a player’s overall offensive value.  Managers and coaches were not allowed to vote for players on their own teams. Tabulation of the balloting was verified by the accounting firm of Mountjoy Chilton Medley LLP.
Among the teams represented by this year’s winners, the Nationals, Yankees and Tigers each had multiple Silver Slugger Award winners. Not only do the Nationals have three members on the National League team, but all are also first-time award winners – Adam LaRoche at first base, Ian Desmond at shortstop and Stephen Strasburg at the pitcher position.
For the American League, the Yankees’ Jeter received his fifth award at shortstop and Robinson Cano his fourth award at second base. The Tigers had two members on the American League Team including Triple Crown Winner Miguel Cabrera at third base with his fourth Silver Slugger award and Prince Fielder with his third award at first base, but first in the American League.
Other first-time Silver Slugger Award winners included: Mike Trout of the Angels and Josh Willingham of the Twins, both in the outfield, A.J. Pierzynski of the White Sox at catcher and Billy Butler for the Royals at designated hitter for the AL. The remaining first-timers for the NL include Chase Headley at third base for the Padres and both Andrew McCutchen of the Pirates and Jay Bruce of the Reds in the outfield.
The remaining team selection for the AL was Josh Hamilton of the Rangers in the outfield, his third award. The NL recognized Aaron Hill of the Diamondbacks at second base, his second award.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Watch & Listen LIVE