Cleaves, Smith, Dungy Enter Michigan Hall Of Fame

DETROIT (AP) — Former Michigan State basketball stars Mateen Cleaves and Steve Smith and former NFL coach Tony Dungy are going into the Michigan Sports Hall of Fame.

The newest class will be formally inducted in February. Other honorees will include Lomas Brown, Mark Howe, Pam McGee, Dick Kimball and Tyrone Wheatley.

Cleaves led Michigan State to the national title in 2000, and Smith led the Spartans to the 1990 Big Ten title.

Dungy, who grew up in Jackson, coached the Indianapolis Colts to the Super Bowl title in 2006.

Hall of Fame chairman Scott Lesher says the new induction class is made up of “individuals from a variety of sports that have achieved prominence and represented their teams, schools and the State of Michigan at the highest levels.

(© Copyright 2012 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)


More From CBS Detroit

Hump Day Drinks: 8 Cheery Cocktail RecipesNow that you've made it through half the work week, it's time to celebrate!
Daily J

Watch & Listen