ANN ARBOR, Mich. — The University of Michigan men’s basketball team recognized the efforts and achievements of its players and staff at the 52nd annual U-M Basketball Awards Celebration this evening (Tuesday, April 16) at Crisler Center.

Sophomore Trey Burke (Columbus, Ohio/Northland HS) earned the evening’s top award for the second straight season — the BILL BUNTIN MOST VALUABLE PLAYER AWARD — while freshman Mitch McGary (Chesterton, Ind./Brewster Academy N.H.) was awarded three honors to highlight the evening.

The evening was also a tribute to the five-member senior class of Eso Akunne (Ann Arbor, Mich./Gabriel Richard HS), captain Josh Bartelstein (Highland Park, Ill./Phillips Exeter Academy [N.H.]), Blake McLimans (Hamburg, N.Y./ Worcester Academy [Mass.]), Corey Person (Kalamazoo, Mich./Central HS) and Matt Vogrich (Lake Forest, Ill./Lake Forest HS).

Burke became the 23rd Wolverine to earn multiple U-M MVP honors, following his record-breaking sophomore season. The consensus National Player of the Year and consensus All-American, Burke finished the season averaging career bests in points (18.6), assists (6.67), field goal percentage (46.3), three-point percentage (38.4), free throw percentage (80.1) and steals (1.59). Burke recorded the fifth-highest point total in U-M history with 727 and became just the sixth Wolverine to record 700-plus points in a single season. His 1,231 career points are the most recorded by a U-M player following their sophomore season.

Burke also earned the GARY GRANT AWARD FOR MOST ASSISTS, as he closed the season setting the U-M single-season and sophomore class record with 260 total assists. Burke also cracked U-M’s all-time top 10 in assists, becoming just the eighth Wolverine to surpass 400 in a career (416).

McGary was given three awards on the evening, as he earned the STEVE GROTE HUSTLE AWARD, the SIXTH MAN AWARD and the LOY VAUGHT REBOUNDING AWARD. Playing in all 39 games in his first season, McGary was instrumental in U-M’s NCAA Tournament run, averaging 14.3 points and 10.7 rebounds during the six-game stretch. For the season, McGary averaged 7.3 points, while leading U-M with 6.3 rebounds per game.

For the second time in his career, Vogrich earned the BODNAR AWARD FOR ACADEMIC ACHIEVEMENT. Enrolled in U-M’s prestigious Stephen M. Ross School of Business he will graduate in April with a degree in Business Administration.

After averaging career bests for points (14.5), rebounds (4.7), assists (2.4), field goal percentage (43.7) and three-point field goal percentage (37.4), junior Tim Hardaway Jr. (Miami, Fla./Palmetto Senior HS) was awarded the RUDY TOMJANOVICH MOST IMPROVED PLAYER AWARD, while redshirt junior Jordan Morgan (Detroit, Mich./University of Detroit Jesuit) was given the WAYMAN BRITT OUTSTANDING DEFENSIVE PLAYER AWARD, adding to his earlier recognition on the Big Ten’s All-Defensive team.

Person received the THAD GARNER LEADERSHIP AWARD and redshirt sophomore Jon Horford (Grand Ledge, Mich./Grand Ledge HS) the TRAVIS CONLAN SPORTSMANSHIP AWARD. After leading U-M by shooting 85.7 percent from the free-throw line, freshman Nik Stauskas (Mississauga, Ontario, Canada/St. Marks [Mass.]) was given the AWARD FOR OUTSTANDING FREE THROW SHOOTING and fellow freshman Glenn Robinson III (St. John, Ind./Lake Central HS) was the recipient of the IRON MAN AWARD.

Michigan finished the 2012-13 season equaling the most wins in U-M history with a 31-8 record, while posting a 12-6 Big Ten mark, giving the Wolverines the No. 4 seed at the Big Ten Tournament. U-M made its third straight NCAA Tournament appearance and fourth in the last five seasons, receiving a No. 4 seed in the South Region.

Following wins over South Dakota State, VCU, Kansas and Florida, Michigan played its way to the Final Four for the first time in 20 years. A win over Syracuse in the national semifinal advanced the Wolverines to national title game where they closed as the national runner-up following a loss to Louisville.

2013 Michigan Basketball Banquet Awards
• Bill Buntin Most Valuable Player Award: Trey Burke
• Rudy Tomjanovich Most Improved Player Award: Tim Hardaway Jr.
• Wayman Britt Outstanding Defensive Player Award: Jordan Morgan
• Steve Grote Hustle Award: Mitch McGary
• Thad Garner Leadership Award: Corey Person
• Travis Conlan Sportsmanship Award: Jon Horford
• Bodnar Award for Academic Achievement: Matt Vogrich
• Gary Grant Award for Most Assists: Trey Burke
• Loy Vaught Rebounding Award: Mitch McGary
• Award for Outstanding Free Throw Shooting: Nik Stauskas
• Sixth Man Award: Mitch McGary
• Iron Man Award: Glenn Robinson III

• Trey Burke is the 23rd Wolverine to earn multiple Bill Buntin MVP award. He joins the list that includes: Dave Strack (1943, ’46); Bob Harrison (1947, ’49); Ron Kramer (1955, ’56, ’57); Bill Buntin (1963, ’65); Cazzie Russell (1964, ’65, ’66); Rudy Tomjanovich (1969, ’70); Henry Wilmore (1971, ’72); Phil Hubbard (1977, ’79); Mike McGee (1980, ’81); Roy Tarpley (1984, ’85, ’86); Gary Grant (1987, ’88); Glen Rice (1988, ’89); Chris Webber* (1992, ’93); Jalen Rose (1992, ’94); Robert Traylor* (1997, ’98); Louis Bullock (1997, ’98, ’99); LaVell Blanchard (2000, ’01, ’03); Bernard Robinson Jr. (2001, ’04); Daniel Horton (2003, ’06); Dion Harris (2005, ’07); Manny Harris (2008, ’09, ’10); DeShawn Sims (2009, ’10) and now Burke (2012, ’13).


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

More From CBS Detroit

Best Cooking Classes In DetroitLearn how to whip up some wonderful dishes while having fun!
5 Bucket List Items To Cross Off In DetroitThe “must-do” items for anyone making a trip to Detroit.

Watch & Listen LIVE