By CBS 62 Staff

It started eight years ago as a four-week election special with journalist Carol Cain as  producer and host, and outspoken Oakland County Executive L. Brooks Patterson and business executive Denise Ilitch as panelists, and “Michigan Matters”  was on its way.

It connected with viewers  and  quickly evolved into a weekly TV show with tentacles to the governor’s mansion, CEO suites at Ford, GM and Chrysler, the president’s office at UM, MSU, NMU  as well as owners’ suites at Comerica Park and Ford Field.

The heralded community program — which has won numerous Emmys, MAB and others awards — marked its eighth anniversary Thursday with a gala celebration at CBS62/CW 50 offices where station executives and those in front and behind the camera of the Emmy winning program gathered.

“It takes years of hard work and hustle to gain the kind of reputation and following that “Michigan Matters” has,” said Tom Canedo, vice president and general manager of CBS 62/CW50.

“Between Carol, Denise, Brooks, and those working diligently behind the scenes, it’s an  all-star team effort,” Canedo added. “It’s not hard to understand why “Michigan Matters” has made such an impact.”

See a photo gallery of the celebration HERE!

Besides Ilitch and Patterson, numerous other luminaries have appeared on the show including: Govs. Rick Snyder, Jennifer  Granholm, Jim Blanchard, Jeb Bush, Howard Dean and Mitt Romney; Detroit Mayors Dave Bing, Kwame Kilpatrick, Dennis Archer and Ken Cockrel, Rev. Jesse Jackson,  Sparky Anderson, actors Bill Cosby and Jeff Daniels, Senators Debbie Stabenow and Carl Levin, Rep. Sandy Levin, Speaker Newt Gingrich,  Cong. Rick Santorum, Cong. John Dingell, Cong. Gary Peters, Beth Chappell, Rod Alberts, Sir Martin Sorrell and Sir Jackie Stewart, Bill Ford, Edsel Ford, Mark Fields, Roger Penske, UAW’s  Bob King, Judge Greg Mathis,  political analysts Mike McCurry and Dana Perino, Peter  Karmanos, James P. Hoffa, Sergio Marchionne, Dan Gilbert, Roy Roberts, A. Alfred Taubman,  Doug, Dick, Betsy, Rick and Rich DeVos, Steve and David Van Andel,  U.S. Ambassadors Pete Secchia and Ron Weiser, China’s Ambassador to the U.S, Tom Lewand, Rick Mahorn, Steve Harvey, Tom Izzo,. Israeli Consul General Roey Gilad, Canada Consul General Roy Norton,  Sandy Baruah, Saul Anuzis, Bobby Schostak, Lon Johnson, Mark Brewer,  Pete Waldmeir, Rob Bliss, Bill Pulte and Phil Cooley.

“Michigan Matters’” imprint has also grown  through involvement in high powered  community events  like the Michigan  Chronicle’s “Pancakes and Politics,” The Detroit Economic Club-DADA’s “Big Four,” The Michigan Political Leadership Program and the Detroit Regional Chamber’s Mackinac Policy Conference.

It was “Michigan Matter’s” footprint that set the stage for CBS 62 to launch its “Eye On the Future” community initiative in 2007 which has included Emmy-winning prime time TV specials on issues including globalization, healthcare, talent gap, alternative energy and reinventing the state.

What’s next?

If it  involves politics, business, education and impacts  our community, you can be sure the hard charging  “Michigan Matters” team will bring home those issues  like no one else in town.

“Michigan Matters” airs 11:30 a.m. Sundays on CBS 62.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Watch & Listen LIVE