Horizon League Men’s Basketball Conference Schedule Announced

INDIANAPOLIS — The Horizon League men’s basketball regular season will begin on Thursday, December 29, 2016, the conference office announced on Wednesday.

Over the course of nine weeks, all 10 programs will play each other twice in an 18-game double round robin format. The League season will end on Sunday, February 26.

The opening day of League play will feature eight of the ten conference teams in action, including last season’s Horizon League Tournament Champions Green Bay on the road at Cleveland State. The following day, UIC will host the 2016 regular season champions and NIT runner-up, Valparaiso, rounding out the start of conference play.

Four new head coaches will steer their programs through League competition in 2016 with Scott Nagy at Wright State, Matt Lottich at Valparaiso, LaVall Jordan at Milwaukee, and Bacari Alexander returning to Detroit.

The Raiders head north to open their conference season at Oakland and Detroit. The Golden Grizzlies will look to make another splash in League play this year as the squad was the No. 2 seed in last year’s championship and was the runner-up in the inaugural Vegas 16 postseason tournament. Detroit will welcome Northern Kentucky on Dec. 29 as the Norse enter their second year in the Horizon League and first year as an active Division I member.

Milwaukee, the 2014 Tournament Champions, start with three-straight road contests with its third matchup coming against conference-rival Green Bay on Jan. 6 at the Resch Center. Coming off a strong NIT run last year, Valparaiso begins on the road at UIC and then hosts Oakland in its home opener on Jan. 6 at the ARC.

The 2017 Horizon League Men’s Basketball Championship will take place in Detroit, Mich. at the Joe Louis Arena and will include all ten teams in a five-day format from Friday, March 3 to Tuesday, March 7. The 2017 Championship will mark the last year at Joe Louis Arena before Little Caesars Arena opens.

Information regarding men’s basketball contests on ESPN networks as well as the American Sports Network (ASN) will be released next week on Tuesday, Sept. 13 and Wednesday, Sept. 14, respectively.

2016-17 Horizon League Men’s Basketball Schedule

Thursday, Dec. 29
Green Bay at Cleveland State
Milwaukee at Youngstown State
Northern Kentucky at Detroit
Wright State at Oakland

Friday, Dec. 30
Valparaiso at UIC

Saturday, Dec. 31
Milwaukee at Cleveland State
Green Bay at Youngstown State
Wright State at Detroit
Northern Kentucky at Oakland

Thursday, Jan. 5
Cleveland State at Wright State
Youngstown State at Northern Kentucky

Friday, Jan. 6
Milwaukee at Green Bay
Detroit at UIC
Oakland at Valparaiso

Saturday, Jan. 7
Cleveland State at Northern Kentucky
Youngstown State at Wright State

Sunday, Jan. 8
Detroit at Valparaiso
Oakland at UIC

Tuesday, Jan. 10
North Kentucky at Green Bay

Thursday, Jan. 12
UIC at Cleveland State
Valparaiso at Youngstown State
Wright State at Green Bay
Northern Kentucky at Milwaukee

Friday, Jan. 13
Detroit at Oakland

Saturday, Jan. 14
UIC at Youngstown State
Valparaiso at Cleveland State
Wright State at Milwaukee

Monday, Jan. 16
Cleveland State at Oakland
Youngstown State at Detroit
Green Bay at Valparaiso

Tuesday, Jan. 17
Milwaukee at UIC

Friday, Jan. 20
Cleveland State at Milwaukee
Youngstown State at Green Bay
Detroit at Wright State
Oakland at Northern Kentucky

Sunday, Jan. 22
Youngstown State at Milwaukee
UIC at Valparaiso
Detroit at Northern Kentucky
Oakland at Wright State

Monday, Jan. 23
Cleveland State at Green Bay

Friday, Jan. 27
Green Bay at Oakland
Milwaukee at Detroit
Wright State at Valparaiso
Northern Kentucky at UIC

Saturday, Jan. 28
Cleveland State at Youngstown State

Sunday, Jan. 29
Green Bay at Detroit
Milwaukee at Oakland
Wright State at UIC
Northern Kentucky at Valparaiso

Thursday, Feb. 2
UIC at Green Bay
Valparaiso at Milwaukee
Detroit at Cleveland State
Oakland at Youngstown State

Saturday, Feb. 4
UIC at Milwaukee
Valparaiso at Green Bay
Detroit at Youngstown State
Oakland at Cleveland State
Northern Kentucky Wright State

Thursday, Feb. 9
Cleveland State at Valparaiso
Youngstown State at UIC
Green Bay at NKU
Milwaukee at Wright State

Friday, Feb. 10
Oakland at Detroit

Saturday, Feb. 11

Cleveland State at UIC
Youngstown State at Valparaiso
Green Bay at Wright State
Milwaukee at Northern Kentucky

Thursday, Feb. 16
Wright State at Youngstown State
Northern Kentucky at Cleveland State

Friday, Feb. 17
UIC at Detroit
Valparaiso at Oakland

Saturday, Feb. 18
Green Bay at Milwaukee
Wright State at Cleveland State
Northern Kentucky at Youngstown State

Sunday, Feb. 19
UIC at Oakland
Valparaiso at Detroit

Tuesday, Feb. 21
Cleveland State at Detroit
Youngstown State at Oakland
Green Bay at UIC
Milwaukee at Valparaiso
Wright State at Northern Kentucky

Friday, Feb. 24
UIC at Northern Kentucky
Valparaiso at Wright State
Detroit at Milwaukee
Oakland at Green Bay

Saturday, Feb. 25
Youngstown State at Cleveland State

Sunday, Feb. 26
UIC at Wright State
Valparaiso at Northern Kentucky
Detroit at Green Bay
Oakland at Milwaukee

Comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From CBS Detroit

Best Fall Festivals In Metro DetroitFrom music to art to special events, there's a little something for everyone's delight.
Best 4th Of July Concerts In Metro DetroitStaying home this weekend? Celebrate the 4th of July by rocking out at one of these shows.

Watch & Listen