Tigers And Mud Hens Announce Two-Year Affiliation Agreement

TOLEDO, OH- The Toledo Mud Hens and Detroit Tigers today announced the extension of the player development agreement through the 2018 season, continuing the relationship between these two historic franchises that began 30 years ago.

“Toledo and Detroit have had a strong partnership since 1987 and I’m looking forward to the next two years,” said Toledo Mud Hens General Manager Erik Ibsen. “There is no question the goal for both the Hens and Tigers is to be successful on the field. We’re dedicated to working together to help prospects reach their goal of advancing to the highest level of the game and creating championship teams.”

Toledo has made the post-season four times (2002, 2005, 2006, and 2007) and has won the International League’s Governors’ Cup twice (2005 & 2006) while at Fifth Third Field. The Toledo Mud Hens recently completed their 15th season at Fifth Third Field in downtown Toledo with a 68-76 record.

“We are thrilled to continue our long-standing relationship with the Toledo Mud Hens,” said Dave Littlefield, Tigers’ Vice President of Player Development. “Toledo runs a first class operation and continues to play an integral role in preparing our players for the Major Leagues. Our organizational goal is to field a competitive and winning team in Toledo and we certainly would like to reward Mud Hens fans with a championship to celebrate.”

Thirty players wore both a Toledo and Detroit uniform this season: Matt Boyd, Tyler Collins, Buck Farmer, Michael Fulmer, Shane Greene, Anthony Gose, Blaine Hardy, John Hicks, Jose Iglesias, Logan Kensing, JaCoby Jones, Dixon Machado, Joe Mantiply, J.D. Martinez, Cameron Maybin, James McCann, Casey McGehee, Dustin Molleken, Steven Moya, Daniel Norris, Bobby Parnell, Mike Pelfrey, Alex Presley, Bruce Rondon, Kyle Ryan, Warwick Saupold, Drew VerHagen, Alex Wilson, Bobby Wilson, and Jordan Zimmermann.

The Toledo Mud Hens hit a major attendance milestone this season by welcoming their 8-millionth fan. Since moving downtown in 2002, attendance has topped the half-million mark every season.

Toledo Affiliation History
1987-Current – Detroit
1978-1986 – Minnesota
1976-1977 – Cleveland
1974-1975 – Philadelphia
1967-1973 – Detroit
1965-1966 – New York
1956-1964 – No baseball in Toledo
1953-1955 – Milwaukee
1949-1952 – Detroit
1940-1948 – St. Louis
1936-1939 – Detroit
1883-1935 – No affiliation


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From CBS Detroit

Best Fall Festivals In Metro DetroitFrom music to art to special events, there's a little something for everyone's delight.
Best 4th Of July Concerts In Metro DetroitStaying home this weekend? Celebrate the 4th of July by rocking out at one of these shows.

Watch & Listen