The bill requires more than 40,000 people on Michigan’s sex offender registry to pay an annual $50 fee.
The quarterly verification period for Michigan residents convicted of sex offenses gets underway Tuesday across the state.
Registered sex offenders living in Michigan would have to pay an annual fee under a measure that has passed the GOP-led Senate.
A bill to require the more than 40,000 people on Michigan’s sex offender registry to pay an annual fee is igniting a debate over who should bear the costs for operating and maintaining the state’s system used to track offenders.
Authorities arrested 51 sex offenders last month for failing to comply with Michigan’s sex offender registration law.
New child protection legislation is being considered by lawmakers in Lansing.
Law enforcement agencies across Michigan are conducting their ninth annual statewide sex offender sweep.
And if you don’t show up? They’ll come looking for you.
A federal judge has ruled that homeless sex offenders may stay overnight at shelters near schools in Grand Rapids despite a state law prohibiting them from living within 1,000 feet of a school.
Michigan Gov. Rick Snyder has signed three bills making it easier to permanently revoke the licenses of health care professionals who commit criminal sexual conduct, and a fourth measure protecting bowling alleys whose customers fall while wearing bowling shoes outside.