CBS62logoNEW2013_blue_final_header_White wwj950-sm2011b 971-ticket-35smb 35h_CBSSportsRad_Detroit

Best Books For Dad This Father’s Day

June 4, 2013 7:00 AM

View Comments
Photo Credit Thinkstock

Photo Credit Thinkstock

Need a good gift idea for Dad this Father’s Day? Our friends at Simon & Schuster put together this great list covering everything your Dad will love. 

UNDER THE DOME: A Novel
By: Stephen King

underthedome Best Books For Dad This Fathers Day

Photo Credit Simon and Schuster

Stephen King’s tour-de-force with more than 100 characters follows the apocalyptic course of events when one Maine town is physically cut off from the rest of the world by a mysterious and impenetrable barrier. Get the dad in your life to pick up the book and he’ll be anxiously awaiting the CBS miniseries starting June 24th.

Click here for more on CBS’s Under the Dome.

For fans of: Stephen King!

LOUDMOUTH: Tales (and Fantasies) of Sports, Sex, and Salvation from Behind the Microphone
By: Craig Carton

loudmouth Best Books For Dad This Fathers Day

Photo Credit Simon and Schuster

Fans of Boomer and Carton in the Morning will hear Craig Carton’s voice loud and clear while reading this humorous and bold memoir. In Loudmouth, Carton recounts tales from his suburban youth, defends his love for the New York Jets and reminisces about some of the highest paid and most celebrated athletes playing today. Perfect for sports fans – or anyone in need of a good laugh.

Click here to read an excerpt of LOUDMOUTH

For fans of: Adam Carolla’s In Fifty Years We’ll All be Chicks

DAN GETS A MINIVAN: Life at the Intersection of Dude and Dad
By: Dan Zevin

dangetsaminivan Best Books For Dad This Fathers Day

Photo Credit Simon and Schuster

Dan Zevin is a master of turning ordinary life into humorous prose and his latest book, Dan Gets a Minivan, is a spirited, entertaining, and refreshing coming-of-middle-age tale that chronicles the ups and downs of dad life for a new generation of men entering fatherhood.

For fans of: Dave Barry’s I’ll Mature When I’m Dead

WHO OWNS THE FUTURE?
By: Jaron Lanier

whoownsthefuture Best Books For Dad This Fathers Day

Photo Credit Simon and Schuster

This visionary work connects the effects of network technology (like Google and Facebook) over the past several years to the recession and decline of the middle class. At the same time, Lanier makes a deeply human argument for how to grow our information economy and increase personal wealth. Imagine a world where you received royalties for every Instagram you ever took, for every thought you ever Tweeted. This book is bound to be a conversation starter.

For fans of: Jaron Lanier’s You Are Not a Gadget or David Kirkpatrick’s The Facebook Effect

THE EMERALD MILE: The Epic Story of the Fastest Ride in History Through the Heart of the Grand Canyon
By: Kevin Fedarko

theemeraldmile Best Books For Dad This Fathers Day

Photo Credit Simon and Schuster

During a once in a century flood in 1983, three remarkable men guided a raft through the Grand Canyon’s Emerald Mile – a 277 mile journey that normally takes over three weeks to complete. These men set a new record, finishing the ride in 36 hours, 38 minutes, and 29 seconds. This is the perfect book for adventure readers, as well as those interested in nature, the environment, and the rise of American civilization.

For fans of: John Krakauer’s Into Thin Air

18 IN AMERICA: A Young Golfer’s Epic Journey to Find the Essence of the Game
By: Dylan Dethier

18inamerica Best Books For Dad This Fathers Day

Photo Credit Simon and Schuster

Over the course of a year, 18-year-old Dylan Dethier set out in his dusty Subaru to play a round of golf in each of the 48 contiguous states. As his project gained attention from the sports community, he met heroes including legendary golfer Phil Mickelson and Michael Jordan; teed off at Pebble Beach and Augusta; and played nearly 150 rounds of golf. In crisp prose and with a wry, engaging voice, Dylan takes us beyond his own reflections to weave a surprising and memorable portrait of America and it’s golfers. A perfect read for Dads who live at the country club all summer.

For fans of: Michael Murphy’s Golf in the Kingdom

ON THESE COURTS: A Miracle Season that Changed a City, a Once-Future Star, and a Team Forever
By: Wayne B. Drash

onthesecourts Best Books For Dad This Fathers Day

Photo Credit Simon and Schuster

Anfernee “Penny” Hardaway was once on track to be the NBA’s next franchise player, but when injuries forced him to retire far before his time, he took on the task of coaching a team from the most dangerous neighborhood of Memphis. Hardaway believed in this group of troubled teens that so many others gave up on, and ended up taking them all the way to the state championship. On These Courts is the incredible true story of hope and inspiration, of struggle and triumph. It touches the core of what it means to give back and realize a life’s dream.

For fans of: The Blind Side or Friday Night Lights

IMPERIAL DREAMS: Tracking the Imperial Woodpecker Through the Wild Sierra Madre
By: Tim Gallagher

imperialdreams Best Books For Dad This Fathers Day

Photo Credit Simon and Schuster

Explorer and Cornell ornithologist Tim Gallagher takes readers deep into the Sierra Madre Occidental in his search for the most rare, and possibly extinct, bird in the world: the Imperial Woodpecker. This is popular science writing at its best – simultaneously an adventure story, a memoir, and an exciting natural history. Dad will feel like he’s on a perilous journey through Mexico’s treacherous Sierra Madre Mountains and on a wild goose chase for this almost mythical creature.

For fans of: David Grann’s The Lost City of Z: A Tale of Deadly Obsession in the Amazon

View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,914 other followers