cars istockphoto Gov’t To Crash Test 55 Vehicles Under New System


The government says it plans to test 55 vehicles from the 2011 model year under a new safety ratings system that includes tougher requirements.

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration says the tests will be conducted under a new five-star ratings system that includes new tests.

The revamped system will give consumers a single overall score for the first time.

Some of the best-selling cars, trucks and sport utility vehicles in the U.S. will be tested, including the Toyota Camry, Chevrolet Malibu, Ford F-150 and Honda Odyssey.

The consumer program was started in 1979. Some safety advocates have said most vehicles earn four or five stars on the tests, making it difficult for consumers to compare safety features.
(Copyright 2010 by The Associated Press.  All Rights Reserved.)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s