At its annual meeting, the Washtenaw County development agency Ann Arbor Spark, the driving force of business expansion, attraction and retention in the region, elected its officers, board of directors and executive committee for 2011-2012. 

The annual meeting also served as a celebration of Ann Arbor Spark’s sixth year assisting in the creation of economic opportunities throughout the region and state.

READ MORE: 'My Name Is Sara' Film On Holocaust Survivor Premieres In Metro Detroit

“Ann Arbor Spark’s board of directors, executive committee and officers are an impressive group of leaders across all areas of business, government and academia,” said Paul Krutko, president and CEO. “The experience and expertise they collectively bring to Ann Arbor Spark meaningfully informs our business attraction and business retention efforts. The board’s leadership guides Ann Arbor Spark’s strategy and helps the organization reach its goal of expanding the regional economy.”

New members to the Ann Arbor Spark board of directors are Ric DeVore, regional president, PNC; Marty Kahn, CEO, ProQuest; Mike Miller, head of online sales, Canada, and head of Ann Arbor office, Google; Conan Smith, Washtenaw County Commissioner and executive director, Michigan Suburbs Alliance; and Thomas Zurbuchen, director, University of Michigan’s Center for Entrepreneurship.

Ann Arbor Spark also announced the 2011 officers at its annual meeting. Stephen Forrest, vice president for research, University of Michigan will continue to serve as its board chairman. Tim Marshall, president and CEO, Bank of Ann Arbor, will continue to serve as its vice chairman. David Parsigian, partner, Honigman Miller Schwartz and Cohn LLP will continue to serve as the board of directors’ secretary. Bhushan Kulkarni, president and CEO of GDI Infotech is replacing Laurel Champion, executive vice president of Ann, as treasurer of the board of directors. 

READ MORE: Dearborn Homecoming Festival Kicks Off This Weekend

Additional members on the Ann Arbor Spark board of directors are:

Albert M. Berriz, CEO, McKinley
Dr. Mary Sue Coleman, president, University of Michigan
Robert E. Guenzel, retired Washtenaw County Administrator
Charles Gulash, vice president, Toyota Motor Engineering & Manufacturing
John Hieftje, mayor, City of Ann Arbor
Susan Martin, president, Eastern Michigan University
Jonathan S. Newpol, executive vice president, Thomson Reuters
Dr. Roger S. Newton, president and CEO, Esperion Therapeutics, Inc.
Richard B. Sheridan, president and CEO, Menlo Innovations LLC

Additional members of the Ann Arbor Spark executive committee are:

Laurel Champion, executive vice president, Ann
Paul Dimond, senior counsel, Miller Canfield
Gretchen Driskell, mayor, City of Saline
Kenneth C. Fischer, president, University of Michigan’s University Musical Society
Roger Fraser, administrator, City of Ann Arbor
Jan Garfinkle, managing director, Arboretum Ventures
Leigh R Greden, executive director, government and community relations, Eastern Michigan University
Michael Korybalski, SmartZone LDFA
Paul Krutko, president and CEO, Ann Arbor Spark
Trevor F. Lauer, vice president of marketing, DTE Energy
Verna McDaniel, deputy county administrator, Washtenaw County
Dr. David E. Mielke, dean, College of Business, Eastern Michigan University
Bill Milliken, president, Milliken Realty Company
Kenneth Nisbet, executive director, University of Michigan Tech Transfer
Conan Smith, Washtenaw County Commissioner and executive director, Michigan Suburbs Alliance
Michael Staebler, attorney at law, Pepper Hamilton LLP
Maria Thompson, local entrepreneur, previously president of A123’s Ann Arbor operations

MORE NEWS: Huron Valley Students Will Not Be Allowed To Carry Backpacks To High School Classrooms, Officials Say

More at