LANSING (WWJ/AP) – Gov. Rick Snyder has signed legislation making it a misdemeanor to disrupt a religious service in Michigan.
The governor’s office said Wednesday that the new law includes a sentence of up to 93 days in jail and a $1,000 fine for disrupting a worship service. The law increases the possible fine to $5,000 for repeat offenders.READ MORE: Science of Weather: Sea Life Michigan Turtles
First-time offenders could also face up to 100 hours of mandatory community service, while repeaters could get up to 200 hours.READ MORE: Motown Museum Set To Reopen This Weekend With Expansion Project Near Completion
Snyder said freedom of religion deserves government protection because it’s “one of the founding principles of this country.”
State Rep. Deb Shaughnessy, R-Charlotte, was the bill’s sponsor. She cited one incident in 2008 at Mount Hope Church in Delta Township, west of Lansing, where items were thrown at people and fire alarms were activated.MORE NEWS: Senate GOP Facing Criticism Following Insulin Cap Vote
TM and © Copyright 2012 CBS Radio Inc. and its relevant subsidiaries. CBS RADIO and EYE Logo TM and Copyright 2012 CBS Broadcasting Inc. Used under license. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed. The Associated Press contributed to this report.