LANSING (AP) – Registered sex offenders living in Michigan would have to pay an annual fee under a measure that has passed the Republican-led Senate.

The bill passed on a 33 to 2 vote Thursday. Registered sex offenders must currently pay a one-time $50 fee, but this bill would require that they pay $50 annually.

READ MORE: Here Is The Top 'Should I...' Question Googled In Michigan In 2021, AT&T Reports

Republican Sen. Rick Jones of Grand Ledge is the bill’s sponsor. He says $20 of each fee would go to local law enforcement and $30 to the state.

The bill only applies to registered sex offenders who are out of prison. People that prove that they are indigent can get a fee waiver.
He says neighboring states like Indiana and Illinois already charge annual fees.

READ MORE: GM Secures Tax Abatement For Proposed $1.3B Orion Assembly Plant Investment

The bill now heads to the House.

Senate Bill 221

MORE NEWS: Chief White Says 'There's Reason To Believe' Remains Found In Detroit Belong to Missing Mother Latima Warren

(© Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)