DETROIT (WWJ/AP) – Third-term Detroit Councilwoman Brenda Jones has been voted in as president of the nine-member board.

Jones received five votes Monday as the council elected its leadership.

READ MORE: Michigan High Schools Selling 'Oxford Strong' T-Shirts To Help Community

She unseated Saunteel Jenkins, who’d been in the chair since July, by a five-four vote.

Jones was nominated by councilman George Cushingberry Junior. Jenkins was nominated by councilman James Tate. Jones and Jenkins have both opposed some of Emergency Manager Kevyn Orr’s proposals — including the lease of Belle Isle to the state.

Jenkins was elected by smaller, six-member council over the summer when past president Charles Pugh was relieved of his duties following an extended, unapproved absence.

READ MORE: Meijer Offering Free N95 Masks To Customers At Stores

Newcomer and former Wayne County commissioner George Cushingberry Jr. was elected president pro tem, besting second-term Councilman Andre Spivey by a 5-4 vote.

The council is required to choose its leaders under a revamped City Charter. In previous years, the president and president pro tem were the top vote-getters in the city’s general election.

Detroit is under state oversight, leaving the new council and mayor with fewer responsibilities. Gov. Rick Snyder appointed Kevyn Orr as emergency manager last March.

Orr filed for federal bankruptcy protection in July. His petition was approved last month by a bankruptcy judge.

MORE NEWS: Wayne County Partnering With CDC To Hold COVID-19 Testing Site In Dearborn

TM and © Copyright 2014 CBS Radio Inc. and its relevant subsidiaries. CBS RADIO and EYE Logo TM and Copyright 2014 CBS Broadcasting Inc. Used under license. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. The Associated Press contributed to this report.