ATLANTA (AP) — Utah’s Tom Hackett has won the Ray Guy Award, given to the nation’s top punter.

It was the second straight year Hackett won the award, presented Thursday night.

READ MORE: Tenants Fed Up Over No Heat & Hot Water At The Sapphire Apartments, Management Responds

The Australian-born punter became the first Utah player and the first from the Pac-12 to win the award in 2014. The only other player to win the honor in consecutive seasons was Louisiana Tech’s Ryan Allen in 2011-12. Baylor’s Daniel Sepulveda also won two Ray Guy Awards, but not in consecutive seasons (2004 and 2006).

Hackett, a senior, averaged a career-best 47.8 yards this season, including a long punt of 76 yards.

READ MORE: Oxford School Superintendent Addresses Claims Related To High School Shooting

The other finalists were Michael Carrizosa of San Jose State and Hayden Hunt of Colorado State.


AP College Football website:

MORE NEWS: Detroit Man Charged After Setting Pregnant Girlfriend On Fire

(Copyright 2015 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)