By: Evan Jankens

The Detroit Tigers announced their 25-man roster for Opening Day on Tuesday, which will have the Tigers opening the season in Miami against the Marlins.

Shane Greene landed the role as the Tigers fifth starter as Daniel Norris is battling an injured back. Tyler Collins won the Tigers fourth outfielder spot as Cameron Maybin will start the season on the DL along with pitchers Alex Wilson, Blaine Hardy, Daniel Norris, Angel Nesbitt and Jeff Ferrell.

The final spot on the roster belongs to relief pitcher Logan Kensing.

According to The Detroit News Al Avila talked about the roster.

“What I feel good about,” general manager Al Avila said, “is that we do have depth because after all these injuries we are still able to break camp with a team we like. And when some of these guys start coming back, you have a steady flow of guys coming in an out and we feel we have quality guys to do that.”

Starting pitchers: Justin Verlander, Jordan Zimmermann, Anibal Sanchez, Mike Pelfrey and Shane Greene.

Relievers: Logan Kensing, Buck Farmer, Drew VerHagen, Kyle Ryan, Justin Wilson, Mark Lowe and Francisco Rodriguez.

Catchers: James McCann and Jarrod Saltalamacchia.

Infielders: Miguel Cabrera, Ian Kinsler, Jose Iglesias, Nick Castellanos, Andrew Romine and Mike Aviles.

Outfielders: Justin Upton, Anthony Gose, J.D. Martinez and Tyler Collins.

DH: Victor Martinez.



Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s