LANSING (WWJ) – Ozone monitoring will return to eight counties in Southeast Michigan as extra measures are implemented to lower smog levels in the area.

Effective Wednesday, June 1, Lenawee, Livingston, Macomb, Monroe, Oakland, St. Clair, Washtenaw, and Wayne counties must only sell or dispense gas that does not exceed 7.0 pounds per square inch (psi) vapor pressure.

READ MORE: Chief Search: Detroit Board Of Police Commissioners Agree To Find Candidates

“Summer-formula gasoline increases fuel efficiency and helps smog-causing compounds from being released into the atmosphere,” Craig VanBuren,with the Michigan Department of Agriculture and Rural Development, said in a statement.

READ MORE: Under Proposal N The City Of Detroit Says Demo, Rehab Of Abandon Properties Underway

MDARD, as part of its duties under Michigan’s Motor Fuel Quality Act, is charged with enforcing ozone protection measures in addition to assuring the quality of the gasoline being dispensed in the state.

The summer gas season ends Sept. 15.

MORE NEWS: Drugstores Offer Pfizer Vaccine For Kids Age 12-15 Under New Approval