NASHVILLE, TN — Winners of the 2016 National Association of Broadcasters’ (NAB) Marconi Radio Awards were announced Thursday night at the 27th annual NAB Marconi Radio Awards Dinner & Show, held at the Radio Show in Nashville.

And metro Detroit’s 97.1 The Ticket took home a big prize: sports station of the year.

READ MORE: Ford To Send $500 To Households Affected By Flat Rock Assembly Plant Gas Leak

Rounds of congratulations went around the CBS Radio building, and, among others, offered a cheer to the staff.

“A huge congratulations to (market manager) Debbie Kenyon, (program director) Jimmy Powers and the entire Ticket staff on a tremendous honor,” the blog wrote.

READ MORE: CAIR Alleges Ferndale Police Officers Forced Woman To Remove Hijab Following Arrest

Established in 1989 and named after inventor and Nobel Prize winner Guglielmo Marconi, the NAB Marconi Radio Awards are given to radio stations and outstanding on-air personalities to recognize excellence in radio. This year’s NAB Marconi Radio Award recipients are:

Legendary Station of the Year
WINS-AM, New York, NY
AC Station of the Year
WLEN-FM, Adrian, MI
Network/Syndicated Personality of the Year Delilah, Premiere Networks CHR Station of the Year
KTXY-FM,Columbia, MO
Major Market Personality of the Year
Toucher & Rich, WBZ-FM, Boston, MA
Classic Hits Station of the Year
KRTH-FM, Los Angeles, CA
Large Market Personality of the Year
Brooke & Jubal, KQMV-FM, Seattle, WA
Country Station of the Year
KKBQ-FM, Houston, TX
Medium Market Personality of the Year
Chaz & AJ, WPLR-FM, Milford, CT
News/Talk Station of the Year
WTOP-FM, Washington, D.C.
Small Market Personality of the Year
Brent Carl Fleshman, WHUB-FM, Cookeville, TN
Non-commercial Station of the Year
WSOU-FM, South Orange, NJ
Major Market Station of the Year
WBEB-FM, Philadelphia, PA
Religious Station of the Year
KLTY-FM, Dallas, TX
Large Market Station of the Year
WBAL-AM, Baltimore, MD
Rock Station of the Year
KCMQ-FM, Columbia, MO
Medium Market Station of the Year
WHKO-FM, Dayton, OH
Spanish Station of the Year
KLOL-FM, Houston, TX
Small Market Station of the Year
WKDZ-FM, Cadiz, KY
Sports Station of the Year
WXYT-FM, Detroit, MI
Urban Station of the Year
WHUR-FM, Washington, D.C.

Marconi finalists were selected by a task force of broadcasters, and the winners were voted on by the NAB Marconi Radio Awards Selection Academy. The votes were tabulated by an independent firm.

The NAB Marconi Radio Awards Dinner & Show also featured a performance by Grammy Award-winning singer Jennifer Nettles, courtesy of Big Machine Label Group. Acclaimed WCBS-FM morning personality and host of the nationally syndicated “America’s Greatest Hits” Scott Shannon served as the host.

MORE NEWS: UM Study Shows Healthcare, Service Workers Were Disproportionally Impacted By The COVID-19 Pandemic

The National Association of Broadcasters is the premier advocacy association for America’s broadcasters. NAB advances radio and television interests in legislative, regulatory and public affairs. Through advocacy, education and innovation, NAB enables broadcasters to best serve their communities, strengthen their businesses and seize new opportunities in the digital age.