LANSING (WWJ/AP) – Michigan’s minimum wage workers are starting 2018 with more money.
On Jan. 1, the minimum wage rose to $9.25 an hour. That’s a 35-cent increase since last year, the final increment provided by a 2014 law.READ MORE: More Water Woes For Benton Harbor After Pipe Rupture
Starting in 2019, the minimum wage is due to increase annually with inflation unless the unemployment rate is high.READ MORE: Tesla Hits Record Profit Despite Parts Shortage, Ship Delays
Employers can pay 85 percent of the minimum to employees age 16 and 17. The training wage remains at $4.25 per hour for new hires age 16 to 19 for the first 90 days of employment.
Advocates for restaurant workers have launched a ballot drive in a bid to raise the minimum wage to $12 an hour and pay tipped employees the hourly minimum.MORE NEWS: Woman Arrested In Slayings Of 4 People In Central Michigan
© Copyright 2018 CBS Broadcasting Inc. All Rights Reserved. The Associated Press contributed to this report.