LANSING, Mich. (CBS DETROIT/ AP) — A bill has been approved by Michigan’s Legislature that would exempt some Medicaid recipients from having to meet monthly reporting rules if the state can verify their compliance with work requirements through other data.
Starting in January, abled-bodied adults ages 19 through 61 who are enrolled in Michigan’s Medicaid expansion plan and want to maintain their benefit must, on a monthly basis, show workforce engagement averaging 80 hours a month.READ MORE: Donations Needed For Landfill Search To Find Zion Foster
On Wednesday, Gov. Gretchen Whitmer is expected to sign the measure that won final passage from the Republican-led Senate.READ MORE: Businesses Make Changes To Keep Customers Safe Amid Boil Water Advisory In SE Michigan
The legislation would exempt some enrollees from reporting.
People would have a month to verify their compliance, instead of 10 days under existing law. There also would be a grace period for those who miss the deadline.MORE NEWS: Detroit Police Search For Suspect Accused Of Carjacking Woman
© 2019 CBS Broadcasting Inc. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. The Associated Press contributed to this story.