(CBS Detroit) — Michigan football defensive end Aidan Hutchinson has been named one of the four finalists for the Heisman Trophy.

Other finalists are Pittsburgh quarterback Kenny Pickett, Ohio State quarterback C.J. Stroud and Alabama quarterback Bryce Young.

READ MORE: CDC: New Listeria Outbreak Tied To 23 Illnesses, 1 Death

Hutchinson, who had a new school-record 14 sacks and 33 solo tackles this season, is the first finalist since fellow Wolverine defensive standout Jabrill Peppers in 2016, according to the official announcement.

In 1997, Michigan’s Charles Woodson became the only primarily defensive player to win the award.

READ MORE: Troubling Arsenic Levels Found At Some Detroit Demolition Sites

Tom Harmon and Desmond Howard are the other Wolverines to become Heisman winners in 1940 and 1991 respectively.

The 2021 Heisman Trophy presentation ceremony will be Dec. 11.

MORE NEWS: Michigan Republican Party Submits Nominees For Election Board

© 2021 CBS Broadcasting Inc. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.