State officials say new laws that take effect Sunday are aimed at first-time offenders who drive after drinking excessively in Michigan.
One provision creates a new blood-alcohol content of 0.17 percent or above for first-time offenders. The current blood-alcohol standard required for a drunk-driving conviction is 0.08 percent.READ MORE: Michigan Matters: Helping Young Folks & Cancer Patients
Those convicted of the higher blood-alcohol level will have their license automatically suspended for one year and would serve a jail term of up to 180 days.READ MORE: Meet These Two Bear Cubs Who Have Become Inseparable At The Detroit Zoo
Michigan sees roughly 45 thousand drunk driving arrests each year. One state lawmaker says people who are “super-drunk” and get behind the wheel are “exceptionally dangerous” drivers who ought not to be on the road.MORE NEWS: Delta Wants Other Airlines To Share ‘No-Fly’ Lists To Help Stop Unruly Passengers
(Copyright 2010 WWJ Newsradio 950. All Rights Reserved. The Associated Press Contributed To This Report)