LANSING (AP) – The quarterly verification period for Michigan residents convicted of sex offenses gets underway Tuesday across the state.
It lasts for 15 days.READ MORE: Michigan Gov. Whitmer Tests Positive For COVID-19, Reports 'Mild Symptoms'
State police say so-called “Tier 3” offenders are required to report their current address to a local law enforcement agency, sheriff’s office or state police post.
The Michigan Sex Offender Registration Act requires Tier 1 offenders to verify their address annually, during the first 15 days of January. Tier 2 offenders must verify their address semi-annually, during the first 15 days of January and July.READ MORE: Trump Says Mar-a-Lago Was 'Raided' By FBI
Tier 3 offenders must verify their address quarterly, during the first 15 days of January, April, July and October. Failure to do so carries a penalty of up to two years behind bars.Lighthouse Partners With Gleaners To Expand Food Relief
(© Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)