LANSING (WWJ/AP) – A 15-day address verification period for Michigan sex offenders is underway.
During the verification period, which started on Wednesday, state law requires all registered offenders to report in person to their local law enforcement agency, sheriff’s office or nearest Michigan State Police post to verify their address.READ MORE: Michigan Supreme Court Strikes Law To Make Petition Drives Harder
Tier 1 offenders must verify their address annually, during the first 15 days of January. Tier 2 offenders must verify their address semi-annually, during the first 15 days of January and July. Tier 3 offenders must verify their address quarterly, during the first 15 days of January, April, July and October.
Failure to do so carries a penalty of up to two years behind bars.READ MORE: Sparrow Hospital In Lansing Becomes 6th Hospital In Michigan To Secure Federal Medical Team
All registered sex offenders must also report a change of name, address, employment, campus enrollment, internet identifiers and vehicle within three business days of any change. These changes must be made in person at their local law enforcement agency, sheriff’s office or nearest state police post. Failure to do so is four-year felony.
The Sex Offenders Registration Act allows for the arrest of an offender who is not in compliance with the Act’s reporting requirements. Violators may be arrested during a traffic stop or any other contact with law enforcement. Additionally, law enforcement agencies conduct random address checks to verify offender compliance.MORE NEWS: 3 Arrested After Man Assaulted Outside Holland Township Restaurant
TM and © Copyright 2014 CBS Radio Inc. and its relevant subsidiaries. CBS RADIO and EYE Logo TM and Copyright 2014 CBS Broadcasting Inc. Used under license. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. The Associated Press contributed to this report.