By Ashley Dunkak

CBS DETROIT – The Michigan Sports Hall of Fame announced eight new members Tuesday, and legendary Michigan State basketball coach Tom Izzo topped the list along with legendary New York Yankee Derek Jeter and longtime Detroit Red Wing Sergei Fedorov.

READ MORE: Striking Kellogg's Workers Receiving 3% Raises In New Contract

An eight-time National Coach of the Year, Izzo is entering his 20th season with the Spartans, whom he has guided to 17 straight NCAA tournament appearances, including six trips to the Final Four and a national championship.

Jeter, a 14-time All-Star who grew up in Kalamazoo, retired this year after spending his entire career with the Yankees, winning five World Series championships along the way.

READ MORE: 87% Of Michigan's COVID ICU Patients Unvaccinated, Hospital Association Says

Fedorov, a perennial All-Star, played for the Red Wings the first 13 years of his career, during which Detroit won the Stanley Cup three times.

Others inductees include Hall of Fame shortstop Barry Larkin, the longtime Cincinnati Reds star who was an All-American at the University of Michigan; NHL Hall of Famer Mike Modano of Westland; four-time Olympic swimmer Sheila Taormina of Livonia; and Dearborn’s Aleta Sill, the first female pro bowler to reach $1 million in winnings.

MORE NEWS: Democrats Renew Push For Gun-Control Legislation After Oxford High School Shooting

Detroit Lions defensive tackle Doug English, a four-time Pro Bowl selection, was also honored.