By Edward Cardenas

SOUTHFIELD (CBS Detroit) – Google has rolled out new features for Gmail – which allows users to ‘unsend’ an email – and new version of Google Play Music.

A new free, ad-supported version of Google Play Music has launched on the web, along Android and iOS devices.

Users can browse 30 million songs in the Google Play Music to music curated stations by genre, mood, decade or activity, or artist, album or song.

In addition to offering the free version, which will compete with other services such as Spotify and Pandora, Google Play Music offers a subscription service which allows users to play without ads and take music offline.

The tech giant also unveiled a feature this week for Gmail, which allows users to call back an email sent to an unintended recipient.

According to CNET, users can follow these steps to activate this function:

  • First, log in to your Gmail account on your computer.
  • In the upper right corner of the screen, click the Settings icon (the one that looks like a gear).
  • From the Settings menu, choose the option for Settings.
  • From the Settings window, make sure the General tab is selected.
  • Look for the setting that says Undo Send.
  • Click the check box to Enable Undo Send.
  • Click the drop-box to set the Send cancellation period, meaning the number of seconds you have to prevent the email from being sent. You can choose 5, 10, 20 or 30 seconds.
  • Scroll to the bottom of the Settings screen and click the Save Changes button.
  • To test the feature, click the Compose button at the upper left corner of your Gmail account page.
  • Compose a message and then click the Send button.
  • At the top of the screen, you’ll see a message that says: “Your message has been sent. Undo. View Message.”
  • To prevent the message from being sent, click the Undo link.
  • Gmail stops the message from going out and displays it in case you wish to make any changes and then resend it. If not, you can simply close the message, and it’s relegated to your Drafts folder where you can keep it or delete it.

Comments