Greg Mattison Nominated For Broyles Award

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. (AP) — Louisiana State defensive coordinator John Chavis, Arkansas offensive coordinator Garrick McGee and three others have been named finalists for the Broyles Award, which is given annually to the nation’s top assistant football coach.

Officials announced Monday a selection committee had chosen Chavis, McGee; Wisconsin offensive coordinator Paul Chryst; Michigan defensive coordinator Greg Mattison and Alabama assistant head coach Sal Sunseri. The winner will be announced Dec. 6 in Little Rock.

The award is named after former Arkansas head coach Frank Broyles, whose assistant coaches went on to become notable head coaches at the college or professional level. They include Barry Switzer, Jimmy Johnson, Joe Gibbs and Jackie Sherrill.

Auburn offensive coordinator Gus Malzahn won the award in 2010.

(© Copyright 2011 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)


More From CBS Detroit

Hump Day Drinks: 8 Cheery Cocktail RecipesNow that you've made it through half the work week, it's time to celebrate!
Daily J

Watch & Listen