LANSING (WWJ) - The State of Michigan is getting tougher on delinquent parking ticket offenders.
A new law, which went into effect on Wednesday, lowers the number of outstanding parking tickets allowed motorists, from 6 to 3, in order to be able to renew their driver’s license.
“Not every jurisdiction will do this. Some places will just boot a vehicle, they’ll impound a vehicle, they’ll be a number of other sanctions they’ll employ,” said Fred Woodhams from the Michigan Secretary of State.
“But if it is a community that uses the license hold we’ll be notified by the district court that a person has three or more unpaid tickets on their record and so we won’t be renewing that license,” he said.
Woodhams said the new law is specific to three or more tickets accumulated in one community, or jurisdiction.
Woodhams said many of the state’s larger city’s support the new law. In Grand Rapids the city is owed $3.45 million on 68,674 unpaid parking tickets. In Detroit, the total tab is estimated at $40 million.