In an email to subscribers, the DNR Monday sent a video illustrating new antler point restrictions (APRs) for the northwest Lower Peninula. Starting this year deer hunters in 12 northern counties won’t be allowed to shoot bucks with less than three points on one antler. A point must be one inch or longer. The video, produced by the Wildlife Division, features DNR spokesperson Katie Keen explaining the new restrictions.

Learn more about what’s new for this year’s deer season.

The Natural Resources Commission enacted the new APRs at its June 13 meeting in Lansing. A similar rule has been in effect in Leelanau County the last ten seasons.

The new APR is intended to lead to a herd with more, older bucks in it.

The regulation was proposed by the Northwest Michigan branch of the Quality Deer Management Association more than a year ago. A DNR survey showed that 69 percent of hunters in the area approved of the regulation.

The counties added under this restriction include Antrim, Benzie, Charlevoix, Emmet, Grand Traverse, Kalkaska, Lake, Manistee, Mason, Missaukee, Osceola and Wexford.

For more information, read the 2013 DNR hunters digest.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

More From CBS Detroit

Best Cooking Classes In DetroitLearn how to whip up some wonderful dishes while having fun!
5 Bucket List Items To Cross Off In DetroitThe “must-do” items for anyone making a trip to Detroit.

Watch & Listen LIVE