Tigers

Replay Upholds Questionable Call Against Tigers [VIDEO]

View Comments
DETROIT, MI - APRIL 04: Austin Jackson #14 on the Detroit Tigers scores and celebrates with teammate Andrew Romine #27 after Nick Castellanos #9 doubles to deep right field during the second inning of the game against the Baltimore Orioles at Comerica Park on April 4, 2014 in Detroit, Michigan.  (Photo by Leon Halip/Getty Images)

DETROIT, MI – APRIL 04: Austin Jackson #14 on the Detroit Tigers scores and celebrates with teammate Andrew Romine #27 after Nick Castellanos #9 doubles to deep right field during the second inning of the game against the Baltimore Orioles at Comerica Park on April 4, 2014 in Detroit, Michigan. (Photo by Leon Halip/Getty Images)

AshleyDunkak Ashley Dunkak
Ashley writes feature stories and news articles about the Lions,...
Read More

Detroit Tigers
Upcoming Games

Buy Tigers Tickets Full Schedule
Tigers Central
Shop for Tigers Gear
Buy Tigers Tickets

MLB Scoreboard
MLB Standings
Team STATS
Team Schedule
Team Roster
Team Injuries

By Ashley Dunkak
@AshleyDunkak

COMERICA PARK (CBS DETROIT) – As rulebooks grow and get more specific, and as instant replay expands, sports start to look different. Detroit Lions fans saw the effects of this phenomenon when wide receiver Calvin Johnson caught a ball and crossed the plane of the end zone (the normal criteria for scoring) only to have the catch ruled an incompletion because he did not “complete the process.”

The Detroit Tigers learned baseball’s version of “completing the process” Friday in their series opener against Baltimore.

With Steve Lombardozzi on first base, Nick Markakis made contact with a pitch and took off. As Lombardozzi sped toward second, Tigers shortstop Andrew Romine snagged the ball and stepped on the bag. He dropped the ball – or as Major League Baseball put it, “involuntarily released” the ball – on the transfer, failing to complete the double play.

Because of that, the umpires called the runner at second safe.

New Tigers manager Brad Ausmus challenged the call, and a two-minute review upheld the decision of the umpires.

Ausmus was 2-for-2 on challenges going into Friday’s game. Since Ausmus challenged a play that was upheld, he forfeited the chance to have another challenge, which managers are awarded if a call they challenge is overturned.

View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,057 other followers