DETROIT (CBS Detroit) — The Big Ten Conference announced its annual year-end men’s basketball awards on Monday evening, with several Michigan and Michigan State players earning honors.

Spartans forward Miles Bridges was named the conference’s Freshman of the Year and was included on the All-Big Ten Second Team and the All-Freshman Team. Nick Ward was listed as an Honorable Mention for the All-Big Ten Teams.

Michigan point guard Derrick Walton Jr. was also named to the All-Big Ten Second Team, while Moritz Wagner was included as an Honorable Mention.

Purdue center Caleb Swanigan unanimously took home the Big Ten Player of the Year Award and Minnesota coach Richard Pitino was named Coach of the Year.

The awards are voted on by the conference’s coaches. See the full list of winners HERE.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

More From CBS Detroit

Best Cooking Classes In DetroitLearn how to whip up some wonderful dishes while having fun!
5 Bucket List Items To Cross Off In DetroitThe “must-do” items for anyone making a trip to Detroit.

Watch & Listen LIVE